Local Chapters

Society of American Foresters’ (SAF) membership is organized into three categories: National, State, and Local Chapters. All SAF members are part of the National Society of American Foresters; membership allocation is further designated by State (e.g., California SAF). Finally, Local Chapters are assigned based on the residential zip code provided with SAF Membership (though can be changed by contacting the National Office). Student members are connected with the SAF Chapter representing individual students’ academic institution.

The map below depicts the geographic designation for Local Chapters within California. Note: not all areas are assigned a Local Chapter. Areas that are blank or assigned only a State Chapter do not have a Local Chapter.

 

 

 

Leadership

California Student Chapters

California SAF Local Chapters


Bakersfield College Student Chapter (Advisor)

Bill Kelly
1801 Panorama Drive
Bakersfield, CA 93305
Work: (661) 395-4097
Email: wkelly@bc.cc.ca.us


Bay Area Chapter

Dave Bakke
Email: norwaydave.db@gmail.com


Bidwell Chapter

Scott Worden
19855 Barton Hill Road
Strawberry Valley, CA 95981
Work: 530-675-2343
Fax: 530-675-0843
Email: sworden@soperwheeler.com


Cal Poly SLO Student Chapter

Dr. Jeff Reimer & Andres Castellanos
Natural Resource Management and Science Dept.
California Polytechnic State University
San Luis Obispo, CA 93407

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Jeff Reimer
jreimer@calpoly.edu

Student Chair: Andres Castellanos
acaste@calpoly.edu


College of the Redwoods Student Chapter

Vacant
Contact the NorCal SAF Office if you are interested in serving in this capacity.


Forty Niner Chapter

Marty Gmelin
P.O. Box 1099
Mi-Wuk Village, CA 95346
Phone(work): 530-675-2343
Email: mgmelin@fs.fed.us


High Sierra Chapter

Patrick Emmert
PO Box 600
Shaver Lake, CA 93664
Phone (work): 559-841-3194
Email: patrick.emmert@sce.com


Humboldt State Student Chapter

Dr. Erin Kelly& Karine Hunt
Dept. of Forestry & Wildland Resources
Humboldt State University
Arcata, CA 95521

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Erin Kelly
(707) 826-4150
eck107@humboldt.edu

Student Chair: Karine Hunt
Karine Hunt: kmh1454@humboldt.edu


Jedediah Smith Chapter

Vacant
Contact the NorCal SAF Office if you are interested in serving in this capacity.


Monterey Bay Chapter

Vacant
Contact the SAF Office if you are interested in serving in this capacity.


Peter Lassen Chapter

Mike De Lasaux
UCCE
208 Fairgrounds Road
Quincy, CA 95971
Phone: 530-283-6088
Email: mjdelasaux@ucdavis.edu


Redwood Coast Chapter

Bill or Wendy Snyder
Email: bill.snyder@fire.ca.gov


Reedley College Student Chapter

Joshua Soderland and Giselle Navaro

Faculty Advisor: Joshua Soderlund
Phone: (916) 638-0300 Ext. 3260
Email: joshua.soderlund@reedleycollege.edu

Student Chair: Gisselle Navarro
Email: GNavarro31@MY.SCCCD.EDU

995 North Reed Avenue, Reedley, CA 93654


Sacramento/Tahoe Chapter

Jon Jue
5781 Jenny Way, Loomis, CA 95650
Phone: (916) 539-8999
Email: jonora@sbcglobal.net


Southern San Joaquin Chapter

Brian Rueger
PO Box 711
Springville, CA 93265-0711
Work: (559) 539-3772
Email: brueger@ocsnet.net


UC Berkeley Student Chapter

Jodi Axelson, Spencer Adams, and Ross Lelieur

Faculty Advisor: Jodi Axelson
(510) 642-8459
jodi.axelson@berkeley.edu

Student Chair: Spencer Adams and Ross Lelieur

Spencer Adams: spencer.adams@berkeley.edu

Ross Lelieur: ross.lelieur@berkeley.edu

UC Berkeley
137 Mulford Hall, #3114
Berkeley, CA 94720-5438
Website
Facebook


Wyntoon Chapter

John Kessler (Interim Chair)
602 Glen Mar Dr.
Mt. Shasta, CA 96067-2744
Work: 530-859-0883
Email: jkforestry@snowcrest.net